On the 14th day of the Russian invasion in Ukraine , the European Union announced that it would take new sanctions this Wednesday, March 9 against Russia and Belarus. The Twenty-Seven have decided to broaden their sanctions by disconnecting three Belarusian banks from the international financial platform Swift, announced the French presidency of the Council of the European Union.

European Union announces new sanctions against Russia and Belarus
European flags in Brussels.  Illustrative photo.  (ADRIEN NOWAK / Hans Lucas via AFP)

Meeting in Brussels, representatives of member states also adopted new sanctions targeting the maritime sector and cryptocurrencies, and added Russian leaders and oligarchs to their blacklist. Measures intended to complete the three sets of sanctions adopted by the EU in the past two weeks.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post