South Korea and Australia qualified for Davis Cup finals

The qualifying play-offs for the next Davis Cup are in full swing. South Korea and Australia have already won their ticket for the next final phase.

South Korea and Australia qualified for Davis Cup finals
Soon-woo Kwon qualified South Korea for the Davis Cup finals. (R. Deutsch/USA Today Sports/Sports Press)

Twelve play-off matches have taken place since Friday to qualify as many teams for the next Davis Cup (from September 14 to 18 for the group stage then from November 23 to 27 for the knockout table). 16 teams will take part in the event. Croatia (finalist last year), Serbia and Great Britain (wild-cards) are directly qualified. Russia, holders of the title, should also have qualified automatically, but it was excluded, following the invasion of Ukraine by its army.

Two other teams have already qualified, thanks to the play-offs. For the first time, South Korea l2will participate in the event, under its new formula (in place since 2019), after defeating Austria (3-1). Soon-woo Kwon brought the decisive point to his team, beating Dennis Novak (7-5, 7-5). Australia, which took part in the last two editions of the Davis Cup, but did not pass the first round last year, qualified at the expense of Hungary (3-2), thanks to victories in singles d 'Alex De Minaur and Thanasi Kokkinakis.


Post a Comment (0)
Previous Post Next Post